Barefoot in the Park … or House

You gentle humans are always trying to guess what motivations we puppies have for behaving as we do.  You try to guess what we are thinking when we chase cats, or roll in the grass, or splash in muddy ponds.  And you know what?  Most of the time you are wrong.

Take this picture, for example.  Can you guess what I am trying to do?

See what I mean? I bet you thought that I was trying to play tug-of-war with dad’s sock.  Wrong!  That wasn’t my intent at all.

I was trying to get his sock off because it is so much nicer to go around barefoot. I always do.  I love to feel the blades of grass between my puppy toes when I romp on the lawn, or to feel the squishy mud when I play in the pond.  It is a wonderful feeling, and I don’t think that you humans go barefoot often enough.

It’s one of the simple joys of puppyhood. *

So, I was trying to let dad experience the pleasures that we puppies have by taking off his sock.  I pulled, and I pulled, and he pulled back, and slowly, slowly, very slowly I was winning.  As you can see, the sock was coming off of his foot.  I was so happy that he could soon go around the house barefoot, like me!  And then, after this one, there was the sock on his other foot.

Oh, I was having fun!

But suddenly, dad pulled his foot (and sock) away and said, “That’s enough of this horseplay” (how the horses got into this conversation I’ll never know. They were minding their own business in the barn).  It seems that he didn’t want to go around the house barefoot.  He had some lame excuse about having two purry things in the house who liked to cough up hairballs.  And that barefeet was not a pleasant way to find these little purry gifts.  Personally, I don’t see what the purpose for the purry things is.  All they do is eat, sleep, and cough up hairballs.  But that is the subject for another day.

Right now, I want to play tug-of-war.

* In the dog world we have been using this phrase for centuries.  Alan Jay Lerner borrowed it and changed the words.  We never got credit, or any royalties.  That’s OK.  We dogs are easy-going and don’t care for that legal stuff.

Leave a Reply

