Doing What Retrievers Do Best

Mom and dad have not reason to complain.  After all, they are the ones who wanted to get a Golden Retriever.  So who can blame me when I do what my breed does best:  Retrieve?!!

I retrieve everything.  Some things I pick up, like sticks and branches, are great for chewing on.  Some things I find, like old flowerpots and lawn ornaments, are usually taken away from me before I can munch on them.  And some things that I recover make great toys.

Like this old lid from a plastic bucket.

It makes a great Frisbee … dad will throw this and I will chase and retrieve it. Over and over.  It is great fun.

I’ve heard that some really clever puppies can catch Frisbees in their teeth while it is still in the air.  I haven’t gotten that clever yet.  I still need to work on my timing, my mid-air grabbing technique, and my flying skills.  I’m sure that I will need to fly in order to grab these discs from the sky.  You have seen other posts where I talk about trying to fly.  Can’t do it yet.  Hope to do it soon.  Then I can catch things Frisbees and soap bubbles.  Oh, what fun that will be.

But, in the meantime, I will keep on retrieving them when dad throws them, and bring them back for him to throw again.  And again. And again.  And again.  And again.  And again.  And … well, you get the picture.

 

Leave a Reply

