Things that go Bark in the Night

 

Bark! Bark! Grrrrr … BARK!”

Well, that sure got their attention.  Mom and dad came running downstairs.  They looked like they had been asleep and were rudely awoken.  They said something about two o’clock.  I didn’t care.  I had heard some noise outside and it didn’t sound right.  It didn’t sound like the purry-things that live under the back porch.

They looked outside.  Didn’t hear or see anything.

“It’s nothing, Bailey,” said they.  “Go back to sleep.”  And they went back upstairs.

But it didn’t go away.  It came back.  This time I saw it.  It was a frightful thing, with a stripped tail and a long, pointy nose.  It had sharp teeth and was wearing a mask over its eyes!  And it was there on the back porch!

“Bark!!!  Grrrrrr BARK, Bark!”

Mom and dad came running back down. Mom looked outside and saw it scamper away.  “It’s a gigundous coon,” she announced.  I don’t know where she comes up with these big words.  Anyway, I didn’t know what a coon was, but it was gone, and they went back upstairs.

“Grrrr, grrrr, BARK!  It’s back!  BARK!!”

They came down again. This time dad took a flashlight and headed outside.  Splash, splash!  Mr. Gigundous had been washing something off in the swimming pool, then scattered into the bushes and ran to the neighbor’s yard.

Where did it come from? What it washing? Where did it go?  These were all questions that would have to linger on my humans’ minds.  For my part, I was satisfied that I had done my job of protecting the family from this ferocious creature.  I went to sleep.

This morning, dad looks like he didn’t get a very good night’s sleep.  I wonder why?

2 responses to “Things that go Bark in the Night

  1. Good job ,Bailey,guard dog. You saved your family from the masked bandit.

  2. I didn’t get a good night’s sleep, either. Unlike Dad, though, I can’t blame Mr. Gigundous.

Leave a Reply

