Going Bowling

I have heard gentle humans refer to something as the “Super Bowl.”  Now, I don’t know what this is, but I imagine that it must be a very big bowl, a HUGE bowl, something that can hold supper for a very hungry puppy.  I would like to have a super bowl.  But what do I get instead?

What is the opposite of “Super?”

In the place where my bowls are, I found: my dinner bowl, my water bowl, and something that I can only describe as the “Tiny Bowl.”  What, for puppy’s sake, is this little bowl doing there?  It is hardly big enough to hold a few pieces of kibble.

So what did I do with it?  The logical thing:  I picked it up.  Or tried to, anyway.  It wasn’t easy to get a good bite on it, but I finally grabbed it and held it up for dad to see.

“Please, sir, may I have … some more?”

After I decided that it wasn’t worth getting any food in it, I tried playing with it.  What fun!  I’ve found that if you put it on the smooth kitchen floor, upside-down, you can push it around with your nose like a hockey puck.  It will slide here, and I will push it again, and it will slide there, and I’ll chase it again.  All the time it makes a great clanking and banging noise … I love it.

But still, I wonder why it was there in the first place. Certainly it wasn’t meant for my dinner.  It is just too small.  Even the purry-things would want a bigger bowl.

Maybe it is supposed to hold something besides dinner, like an appetizer?  Or — do I dare even dream about this — maybe it is the Dessert Bowl??!!  Can you imagine it filled with ice cream??

Mmmmmmm, yum.  I will just have to patiently wait, and hope.  I’ll just wait, and hold this bowl for them to see.  Here I am, waiting…  …   “Hey Mom, this puppy wants Ice Cream!”

(OK, so maybe I don’t do such a good job at the patiently waiting part …)

 

Leave a Reply

