School Days

Today was the first day of school!  No, gentle humans, not for me … for Melanie.  She started First Grade today.

She was very excited to go, and even woke up earlier than usual to get ready.  Here she is when she came downstairs, all set to go.  I ran up the stairs to greet her, to wish her well on this first day, and to ask if I could go to school with her.

Really, I think that going to school would be fun.  I don’t know if I, a clever puppy, really needs to go to school to learn about reading and writing (after all, I already am writing this blog), but just think of all those kids at school who would love to play with me.  Kids who have lots of energy, and love to RUN!  I love to run … after all, I am speed, remember?  Just think how much fun I could have at school, running and playing with all those children.

Well, Melanie said that I had to stay home and that I wasn’t allowed to go to school.  This made me sad.  But then she showed me her painting.  It is a painting of me, and the warm sun and the lush grass, and in the painting I am jumping and chasing soap bubbles. It is a great painting, and it made me forget about being sad.

Now I am happy again, and ready to run outside with my new bone (I’m still trying to figure out a way that I can sneak it out back with me).  And I will wait patiently for Melanie to get home from school, because I know that she will be ready to play with me. 

Even if I can’t go to school.

 

2 responses to “School Days

  1. Wow Bailey, you have a talented family, that picture is so great!! As far as going to school, I have to say that you are such a great and clever pup that the kids would only want to play with you and not learn…unlike you, they have lots to learn still, so it’s for the best that you stay home and wait for Melanie. In the meantime, have you considered taking up art? Maybe you could surprise Melanie with a picture that you paint for her??

  2. Bailey, you absolutely adorable! Great to hear that school went great for your little one!

Leave a Reply

