Mighty Mouth

Some of you gentle humans will know the song “Pinball Wizard” by The Who.  It’s a great song, but could be better.  I’ve rewritten the words:

You see, I love to run (after all, I am speed) and chase things and grab them with my mouth.  One of my dad’s friends once commented, “It looks like Bailey always has to have something in his mouth.”

Of course I do.  After all, what kind of a dog am I?  Well, you are right, I am a clever dog.  And I am a fast dog.  But most of all, I am a Golden Retriever.  And what do Golden Retrievers do?

Wrong.  Then answer is NOT that we sleep.  Or poop.  No, the correct answer is that we RETRIEVE.  That is what we are good at.  And I retrieve everything!

Old flower pots, plastic lids from buckets, you name it, I retrieve it all.  And bring it back for mom and dad.

 

Ever since I was a young pup (uh oh, I might start singing again) I have loved to chase sticks.  I would — and still do — grab sticks and run to dad to have him throw them, and then I’ll chase after them and bring it back and do it all over again.

Of course, as I have gotten bigger, I have gotten bigger sticks.  One might even call them branches.  Or tree trunks.  Still, I retrieve them! I’ve posted about these before, remember?

Sometimes, however, there is a limit to how much I can retrieve.  After all, there is only so much room in this clever puppy’s mouth. Here I am, as a still inexperienced pup, trying to carry three things all at the same time.  It was very hard to do.

All this talking, and posting, and singing has made me anxious to go outside and retrieve something.  Hmm, I wonder:  Dad has a copy of that song, the one by The Who, on something called a vinyl record.  It is nice, and flat, and round, and I bet it would fly through the air a looong way, and I could chase it, and retrieve it, and dad could fling it again … do you think he would do that?  Huh?

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Mighty Mouth

  1. Ain’t got no distractions, can’t hear those “No’s” and yells.
    Runs too fast for stoppin, plays by sense of smell.
    Always wants to re-play, never tires at all.
    That deft, fun, and kind pup, sure plays a mean rubber ball!

  2. I don’t think the vinyl would last for more than one throw, Bailey…

  3. I know I am
    “Bai-ley The Fable King” –
    Right now I’ll hand-off my
    Writing crown to chase-a-furry thi-i-ing!

    (sorry, Mr. Townsend……)

Leave a Reply

