Climb Every Mountain

I’ve been to the top of the world!

Well, maybe not the very TOP.  I haven’t been to Mt. Everest, or the North Pole, or whatever your definition of “top” may be.  But I’ve been up very high, especially for this clever pup.

Yesterday dad and I went mountain climbing.

Well, mom says that we didn’t really do any climbing, and it wasn’t really a mountain, but still, we took a hike and went up a trail that we hadn’t traveled before, and it went up.  And up.  And UP.

It was a long and winding road (hey, that would make a great song title!) and although we went in the morning it was beginning to feel hot.  But we went anyway.  Up and up.

When we finally got there I looked down and saw that we were above the trees, and above the roads, and above the houses.  And down there, somewhere, were mom and the purry-things.

“Bark!”  Hi, mom!  Can you see me?”

She didn’t answer.  I tried again.  Still no answer.  Oh well, you gentle humans don’t have the same keen ability to hear that we clever pups do.  Or maybe it was because my color blended in so well with the golden grasses all around me.  Anyway, after a while we headed back down.

It was hot, and I was tired.  We found a nice shady oak tree and sat down underneath.

While we were there we talked to some people who rode by on 2-wheeled things and some others who were on top of their horses.  They were all very friendly and happy to see me, and said what a pretty dog I was, and I just sat there and panted.  I was too tired to even go up and lick their faces.

But I wasn’t too tired to chase the squirrels!  On our way back down I saw many of those elusive things and pulled dad down the trail running after them.  I’m surprised that he didn’t fall down as we scampered down the hill.  I even got very close to one … about 24 inches away.  Then he ran through this gate and stopped on the other side.  He chirped at me, “Ha ha, you can’t get me.  You’re too big to get through the gate!  Ha ha.”  But he ran away when dad got his camera out.  Who ever knew that squirrels were camera-shy?

Anyway, that was how I spent the morning.  It was fun.  It was exciting.  It was hot, and tiring, and exhausting.  I came home and asked mom if she saw me (she said that she didn’t) then went out to my backyard and lay down in the grass.  It was good to be back home.

 

2 responses to “Climb Every Mountain

  1. Glad you had such a fun adventure with your Dad but yes, “there’s no place like home” and your own spot of shade.

  2. Sounds like a fun adventure for a clever pup!

Leave a Reply

