Squirrel!

Bark!  BARK!!

12 - 12 Bailey -vs- the squirrel 12-31-12 009There was another visitor in our yard!  No, this time it wasn’t the black-and-white stripey thing, or one of the big masked creatures.  It was a small furry-tailed fence hopper (mom called it a squirrel) and it jumped from the fence to the tree.

I quickly ran over to the tree.  I got there very quickly (after all, I am speed!) but by the time I arrived the squirrel had scampered up the tree.  I looked up at him, and he looked down at me, but neither of us got any closer to the other.

12 - 12 Bailey -vs- the squirrel 12-31-12 011I walked around the tree, trying to find a ladder or stairs that the squirrel used to go up so quickly.  I couldn’t find anything.  So I tried to jump.  I tried over and over.

The squirrel just climber higher.

12 - 12 Bailey -vs- the squirrel 12-31-12 013I circled the tree again.  And again.  I could not find a way to climb up the tree, like he did.

We stayed like that for quite a while, the squirrel and me.  12 - 12 Bailey -vs- the squirrel 12-31-12 003Me, on the ground trying to find a way to get up, and he, up in the tree, trying to find a way to get away from this clever and fast pup.

I was a very patient pup.  Surely, I thought, he would eventually have to come down.

He was a very patient squirrel. Surely, he thought, I would eventually tire of this game and go away.

Finally, mom and dad decided to let the squirrel have a chance to go to his own home.  They called me to come in the house.  Nope, I thought, I’ve got this squirrel in a tree.  Then then showed me the puppy treat in their hand.  Oh boy, a treat for me!

I ran into the house.  Very fast.  After all, I am speed!

 

 

 

One response to “Squirrel!

  1. It’s good that mom and dad let the squirrel have a chance to get away. It probably has a family to go home to!

    Also, you guys need to see “Up.” But make sure Mom has plenty of Kleenex.

Leave a Reply

