Two is Better than One

December 059Arf!  I got a new chew bone!

Well, actually (and even better!), I got two new chew bones!  I was in heaven.  I mean, after all, there were TWO bones for me to chew.  I had finished my previous one a long time ago and hadn’t had one of these for days.  Weeks, even.

And now I had two!

December 056The only problem was, I couldn’t decide which one to chew first.  I would put one down, and then pick up the other, but then the first one looked so inviting that I would drop that second and retrieve the first, but the second needed to be chewed also, so I would …

And this went on, over and over, for quite a long time.  Mom and dad thought that it was funny.

Finally, I decided that the only way to achieve chewing satisfaction would be to pick both of them up at the same time!  Yup, that was the answer.

December 054The only problem was, I couldn’t do it.  Every time that I opened my mouth to get the second bone, the first one would fall out!

It was  frustrating.  It was aggravating.  It was very annoying.

And, it was a challenge.

I was not going to give up until I got both of them in my mouth at the same time!  After all, I am a very clever puppy, and I would find a way.

December 053You gentle humans have a saying, “One in the hand is worth two in the bush”.  Well, I don’t go for that rubbish.  First of all, I don’t have hands.  And secondly, if there are two, I want them both!

So, I kept trying.

And, at last, I finally did it!  Look!  You can see by my pleased expression that I was very proud of my accomplishment.  I am indeed a clever puppy.

So I hope this is a lesson for you gentle humans.  If you have something that you really want, but is hard to get, don’t give up.  Just keep trying, like me, to pick up that second bone.  Maybe people laugh at you, like mom and dad did, but don’t let that discourage you.  Keep trying and eventually you will win!

And remember . . .

Two in the mouth is better than one on the floor!

 

Leave a Reply

