A Walk in the Park – Part II

As I told you, gentle humans, the park that we often go to has lots of things to do and see.  There are birds, and cows, trees and hills.  But most of all, there are squirrels!

I love to chase squirrels.  imageThey are small and fast, but not as fast as I am.  And when I get on their trail, I am focused.

I have a very good nose.  I can smell those little rodents.  And I have very good eyes.  A little rustle in the grass will tell me that a squirrel is there.

7-20-13 016And once I see them, it is off to the races.  Dad usually has trouble running as fast as I can (after all, I am speed, remember?) and as a result, we don’t catch up to the squirrel.

Usually, by the time we catch up to the squirrel, he has run into his hole in the ground (like this one).

Sometimes I stick my noise into the hole to see if he is really in there, but dad always pulls me back right away.  Something about angry squirrels and puppy snouts.  I don’t get it.

As I said earlier, I have very keen eyesight.  And sometimes I catch movement from things that are not squirrels.  Once a saw what looked like a very BIG squirrel; dad said it was a wild boar.  7-20-13 015And this day I saw a funny thing on this rock.  It looked the same color as the rock, was small and skinny, and had a looooong tail.  Dad said it was a lizard.  I went to see closer, and it didn’t move.  But when dad tried to take a picture of it, it scampered off.

Who knew that lizards were so photophobic?

 

 

One response to “A Walk in the Park – Part II

  1. Baily and dad…. watch out for those things that rattle… I think they are called snakes.

Leave a Reply

