The High and the Low

Oh! I’ll take the high road and
You’ll take the low road,
And I’ll be in Scotland afore ye;”

Actually, Scotland wasn’t in my plans.  In fact, I don’t really know where Scotland is.  But wherever it is, and whenever I plan to go there, I’m sure that I will get there “afore ye”, because I am Speed, remember?

But today I wanted to show you the high road that dad and I took.  Late Summer 023It is the road that goes up and over the hill to the lake on the other side.  It is a wonderfully long and exhilarating excursion, and dad and I love taking it.  When we go all the way to the lake it is about an eight mile round trip and I am rather tired by the time I get back.  By then I have drunk all the water that dad brought along for me and a stop at the doggie water fountain is very welcome.

After a short rest on the back lawn, however, I am up and ready to run around again.  This pup loves to go!

But look!  Down on the “low road.”  Low RoadYes, way down there … can you see mom? She is walking with her friend Catherine and her dog Raphael.  I put in the arrow to help you. They are on a two-mile loop.  But they just look like small specs to us on the High Road.

018On this day dad and I only went about four miles, timing our return to the bottom to coincide with their conclusion of their loop.

Afterwards we posed for a group photo before heading off for home.  Rafael is only about a year and a half old, but he is bigger than me!

It was another fun day of hiking … on both the low and the high roads.

One response to “The High and the Low

  1. Cant Wait to have you over for Playtime with us here at Laurelwood. Happy New Years to all of you !

Leave a Reply

