The Blustery Day

Blustery DayToday, gentle humans, I want to talk to you about a favorite story of mine. Maybe you know about it … I hope that you do, because it is a wonderful story that you should read. It is the story about Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day. In this story there is a little breeze that … well, it is much more than a breeze, it’s a full-force hurricane-strength gale, that blows down a big tree in which there lived an owl.

12 - 12 Bailey -vs- the squirrel 12-31-12 011We had such a windy day here last week. And we had (notice the use of the past tense)  such a tree in which there was – not an owl – but a squirrel. No, the squirrel didn’t actually live in the tree, but he often ran up that tree. Do you remember when I posted about that time I chased the squirrel?

Here is the link if you want to read it again: http://wp.me/s262M4-squirrel

This tree, on this particularly blustery day, did indeed fall over, just like the one in the story! The wind blew, the branches swayed, and CRASH! down it came!

Blustery1Luckily there was no damage to the house when it fell. No injuries to pups, either, and the squirrel was off somewhere else at the time. The tree just fell onto the lawn.

One pile … one HUGE pile … of  tree trunk, and tree branches, and tree limbs and tree twigs.

I saw it as one HUGE stick for me to fetch!

I ran over and immediately began to pull and tug and yank on this stick, this BIG stick!  Mom and dad thought that it was funny that I would try to carry off such a big stick, but I have always preferred the bigger ones.  And this was the biggest of all!

Blustery2Well, I tried and I tried to fetch that tree, but even I had to admit that it might be just a little too big, even for a clever dog like me. So I pulled off some nice, juicy branches and lay there next to the tree, chewing on them.

After all, that tree isn’t going anywhere, and it’ll still be there for me to chew on tomorrow.

Unless, of course, dad gets out his chain saw and starts cutting it up.

Cutting it up into pieces big enough for me to carry around!

Com’on, dad, let’s rev up that saw!

5 responses to “The Blustery Day

  1. Hi Bailey,

    Happy New Year

    Thanks for your story. I read it quickly as I was eager to find out if my brother, the squirrel, was tangled up in the fallen tree. Next I read your other squirrel story. I’m glad the nice humans intervened and gave you a reason to go inside and let the squirrel go on his way.
    I hope 2015 is a really good one for you. I am still hoping for a play date sometime.
    Bye bye
    Sammy jr

  2. Dear Bailey –
    It has definitely been too long… you are so out of practice putting puns in your posts that you missed a perfect opportunity!….

    “I’ll even try to be as punny as Robin and Bill were! It won’t be easy, however!”
    Don’t you mean “howl-ever” ? 😉 -Mom

  3. Bailey, you are a very clever pup to let Dad chainsaw that tree into Bailey size bites!

  4. Wait… Dad has a chainsaw? Scary.

  5. You just received a lifetime’s worth of sticks!! The Gods must be pleased by all the cleverness of your pup-ness!

Leave a Reply

