A Bedtime Lesson

Sometimes life can be rough for a gentle, sweet, loving puppy.

Hello, gentle humans. Today I want to talk about a difficult subject, a subject that isn’t so happy. Today I want to talk about others taking what isn’t theirs.

For example, Skye’s human is a friend of my dad’s. Skye and LouIn this photo you can see a picture of Skye, and Skye’s bed. The problem is: That isn’t Skye who is lying on her bed. Instead, it is Lou, who knew that it wasn’t his bed but decided to lay on it anyway. And so what does that leave for Skye?

Right.  No bed.

This seems to be a big problem. A growing problem. And it hits very close to home.

In fact, it’s not even close … it IS in my home.

You can see that even I, this clever and sharing puppy, can be victimized. pup 066Yes, gentle humans, I also lost my bed to an unwanted interloper.

It had been a hard day, a very exciting and busy day, full of running and jumping and playing with sticks.  Dad and I even took another long hike up the mountain.

It was a wonderful day, and by the end I was one very exhausted puppy.

I couldn’t wait to go inside and get a nice, big drink and then settle down on my bed.

But when I got to the bed, I found that it was occupied. Taken. By someone who wasn’t going to give it up.

And where did that leave me?

Right. No bed.

Don’t get me wrong, gentle humans. 327I don’t mind sharing my bed with others. But sharing means that we both get a piece of it. Sharing means we take turns. Sharing means that we both get to sleep on the bed.

Sharing is so much nicer.

So I hope, gentle humans, that you have learned a lesson here today. Are you willing to share? Will you share YOUR bed with YOUR puppy?

Leave a Reply

