Rest Interrupted

Hello again, gentle humans. One of the things that I like to do is lie down and relax while dad is running his trains. At Christmastime it is especially nice because the trains circle the Christmas tree and it seems even more festive.

So there I was, one day a little after Christmas, resting by the tree when I was disturbed by a little finger touching my nose. ham1I tried to ignore it, but it didn’t go away. I guess that the finger, which was attached to the littlest and not-so-gentle-at-times human, was trying to get a reaction from me. I pretended that it wasn’t there. Certainly that would work, wouldn’t it?

Besides, it smelled funny. Who knows what that hand had picked up? Yuck …

But the finger didn’t go away. ham3In fact, it invited the other four on that hand to join it in rubbing my neck. Okay, I must admit that it felt good. After all, I am a pup – a sensitive pup at that – and the attention was welcomed, as long as it remained nice and calm.

But the train was getting close and I thought that would distract this little human and I could go back to my nap. At least that is what I hoped for.

It worked … sort of. ham2As the train chugged by the hand went away, but now he was turning himself upside-down to see the world (or at least the room) the way that I viewed it. I wouldn’t give in … I would keep ignoring him.

Eventually it worked, and he went back to playing with the train while I went back to sleeping. Sometimes it is hard being a dog.

But I wouldn’t have it any other way!

2 responses to “Rest Interrupted

  1. We each have our load to bear….

  2. Bailey is so cool.

Leave a Reply

