Take Me Home, Yellow Brick Roads …

You are all familiar with The Wizard of Oz, I am sure.  You know, that wonderful movie about a clever little dog named Toto who has all sorts of wonderful adventures.  He rides on a bicycle in a basket, flies through the air on a spinning house inside a tornado, chases lions, sleeps in a poppy field, explores a witch’s castle … You know the movie.

It is also a stage musical that my family just finished for our local community theater  and it was a terrific production, although I didn’t get to play the role of Toto (that part was shared by two wonderful puppy actors, Lucy and Sparky).

At the end of the story you all remember what happens.  After all his adventures in Oz, Toto gets to go home by barking out loud, “There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home …”

And that is just what I feel like.  I was nice to get away to the Laurelwood resort for a few days, but now it is nice to be back home.  Back to the old routine.  Back to my toys, and my house, and my yard. Back to playing with Melanie, and chasing the purry-things, and lounging on the floor with dad.

Indeed, there is no place like home.  There is no place like home.

One response to “Take Me Home, Yellow Brick Roads …

  1. It is nice to be home! But you appreciate home more when you’ve been away…

Leave a comment